Residents of California may enjoy beautiful weather and a thriving job market, but when it comes to taxes you pay the highest Income Tax rates in America.
You not only need to worry about large tax bill but also to pay correct amount of state taxes from each paycheck.
Hence, As a California taxpayer, you may be required to complete and submit a California State Income Tax Withholding Form (Form DE-4) to your employer.
This form allows your employer to withhold state income tax from your wages, in accordance with the withholding tables provided by the state.
Completing and submitting this form is important, as it ensures that you pay the correct amount of state income tax throughout the year.
Continue reading to learn more about California Income Tax Withholding Form DE-4
- 1 What is the California Income Tax Withholding Form (DE 4)?
- 2 How do I complete the DE 4 form and when is it due to the state government?
- 3 Are there any penalties for not submitting the DE 4 form on time or for incorrect information on the Form?
- 4 Can I get a copy of the DE 4 form online or from my employer, or do I have to print it out myself from the state website?
- 5 What happens if I forget to submit the DE 4 form or if I submit it late – will I have to pay a penalty?
- 6 What should I do if I have questions about filling out the DE 4 Form or need help completing it?
- 7 What is the difference between W-4 and DE4?
- 8 How to Fill Out DE 4 Form (Video Help)?
- 9 Conclusion
- 10 Learn More
What is the California Income Tax Withholding Form (DE 4)?
The California income tax withholding form, also known as the DE 4, is used to calculate the amount of taxes that should be withheld from an employee’s paycheck.
The form includes a number of different boxes where information about the employee’s income and deductions should be entered.
This information is then used to determine the amount of taxes that should be withheld. The DE 4 is a vital tool for ensuring that employees pay the correct amount of taxes, and it can help to avoid under-withholding or over-withholding taxes.
How do I complete the DE 4 form and when is it due to the state government?
The DE 4 form is used to report employee withholdings to the state government.
Employers must complete the form and submit it on or before the last day of February, May, August, and November.
To complete the form, employers must first identify themselves by providing their business name, address, and FEIN.
Then, they must provide information about each employee, including their name, SSN, and the amount of taxes withheld.
Finally, employers must sign and date the form. Submission of the DE 4 form can be done electronically or by mail.
Are there any penalties for not submitting the DE 4 form on time or for incorrect information on the Form?
According to the California Employment Development Department (EDD), the DE 4 form must be submitted within 30 days of the date that an employee first reports to work.
Failure to submit the form on time may result in a penalty of up to $200.
Additionally, if the EDD finds that the information on the form is incorrect, the employer may be subject to a penalty of up to $500.
Therefore, it is important for employers to ensure that the DE 4 form is filled out accurately and submitted in a timely manner.
Can I get a copy of the DE 4 form online or from my employer, or do I have to print it out myself from the state website?
The DE 4 form can be obtained from your employer or printed out from the state website by clicking Here. You will need to provide your personal information, including your Social Security number, on the form. Your employer will also need to provide their information, such as their Federal Employer Identification Number.
Once you have completed the form, you will need to submit it to your employer. They will then send it to the state for processing.
What happens if I forget to submit the DE 4 form or if I submit it late – will I have to pay a penalty?
The DE 4 is an important form for California residents who work and earn wages in the state.
The form is used to calculate your California Personal Income Tax Withholding and includes important information such as your filing status, allowances, and additional income.
If you forget to submit the DE 4 form or if you submit it late, you may have to pay a penalty.
The penalty for failing to file a DE 4 is 10% of the amount of tax due, plus interest.
However, if you can show that you failed to file the DE 4 due to reasonable cause, you may not have to pay the penalty. Be sure to keep good records and file your DE 4 on time to avoid any penalties.
What should I do if I have questions about filling out the DE 4 Form or need help completing it?
Any questions related to the DE 4 form or how to complete it can be directed to your employer or your HR Manager.
They are required to withhold the proper amount of money from your paycheck based on the information you provide on the form.
If you have questions about what to put on the form or how it works, your employer should be able to help you.
You can also find more information and instructions on the EDD website:
If you still have questions after looking at the website, you can contact the EDD directly.
Their phone number is 1-888-745-3886
TTY (non-voice): 1-800-547-9565
Monday – Friday, 8 a.m. – 5 p.m., except state holidays
What is the difference between W-4 and DE4?
W4 is filled out for Federal Income Tax Withholding and DE4 is filled out out for State Tax Withholding.
How to Fill Out DE 4 Form (Video Help)?
Here is Video Explanation about how to fill out DE 4 Form
You should now have a good understanding of what the California income tax withholding form is and how to complete it.
This form is used to calculate your taxes, and you are required to submit it to the state government on time.
There are penalties for not submitting the form or for incorrect information on the form, so be sure to carefully read all instructions and ask questions if you need help.
You can find a copy of the withholding form online or from your employer, or you can print it out yourself from the state website.
If you forget to submit the withholding form or if you submit it late, you may have to pay a penalty. Be sure to stay up-to-date on all tax changes in California – continue reading our blog